Wales & West Awards

sunday 9th February 2020
Congress Theatre, Cwmbran, Wales, NP44 1PL

FEBRUARY 2019 - results & REVIEW



Winner  Melody Chan Kathryn Lawrence
Runners Up  Joseph Lewis Lesley Tipples & Charlie Beth Smith Natalie & Daisuke Miura
Vacani Award Joy of Dance  Hannah Nightingale Natalie & Daisuke Miura

Daisy Ellis Samantha Reed & Francesca Ainley
Sophie Hughes Samantha Reed & Francesca Ainley
Maya Canellas Parish Natalie & Daisuke Miura                              

Middle Section

Winner  Amelia Johnson Jacqui Everson
Runner Up  Chloe Forward Natalie & Daisuke Miura
Pamela Miller Musicality Award Amalie Davies Lesley Tipples

Charlotte Reed Natalie & Daisuke Miura, Noah Avis Jacqui Everson
Olivia Bant Lesley Tipples, Charley Spencer Kathryn Lawrence

Senior Section

Winner Faith Sorlie-Pring, Fiona Bartlett
Runner Up Maia Elsworthy Jacqui Everson
Pamela Miller Musicality Award Ella Beecher Natalie & Daisuke Miura

Lauren Green Carol Goode, Rea Barton Jacqui Everson
Alfie Jones Jacqui Everson


I was delighted to be asked to write a review of the annual Wales and West Awards held at the Congress Theatre, Cwmbran, Newport on Sunday 10th February 2019.  This was the first time that I had made the journey from Cornwall to Monmouthshire and I was well rewarded.

The Theatre has a large stage which fits the needs for movement, without being intimidating. The auditorium has tiered seating affording a good view of the young, competing dancers.  All participants were impeccably groomed, delighting us all with their enthusiasm as they performed the set exercises and their dances. 

Carol Goode and Jacqui Everson are to be congratulated on their superb organisation of the day.  Kate Simmons, Vice Chair of the Cecchetti Society adjudicated. She is a Fellow and Senior Examiner of the Cecchetti faculty and has her own vocational college (KS Dance Ltd).   The morning session was devoted to the Junior Award with a large entry.  For some, presenting themselves in front of an audience, would have been a baptism of fire. Some were shy and others just relished the chance to communicate their love of dance. We all admired their courage and clear evidence of the outstanding hard work put in by dancers and their teachers.   

In her adjudication, Miss Simmons reminded our young dancers of the crucial importance of looking at the audience, especially important when performing ports de bras and that dancers need to hold their turnout on landing from jumps.   As winner of the Junior Section, one young dancer stood out as the brightest star in the firmament!  Her smile was not forced; it was irresistible and her technique outstanding for her years!  

After a delicious lunch, prepared for us by Linda Uruttia, it was the turn of the Middle and Senior Groups to display their talents.  The pianist, Penny Hughes, helped everyone with her sympathetic accompaniments, with clear introductions to each exercise and well-chosen tempi.   Each dance required individual characterisation as well as technique. It was fascinating to watch the different interpretations and facial expressions! I was reminded that Maestro Cecchetti was himself a mime artist, creating, among other characters, the role of Carabosse as well as Bluebird in The Sleeping Beauty.   The Middle and Seniors all presented their work with an assured sense of polished performance.  

The regional Cecchetti Awards are an invaluable asset to the Cecchetti Society Classical Ballet Faculty in promoting our work throughout the country.  In Wales and the West, ten teachers put forward 89 candidates! Based on this very successful event, we are thoroughly optimistic for growth in the future.  None of this would happen, of course, without the most welcome support of the parents and their young ones’  demonstrable love of dance!  We all look forward to next year in Cwmbran.

Kay Jones FISTD

WALES & WEST awards

Originally named the Mabel Ryan Regional Awards, the Wales and the West Awards started in around 1990.  These awards give children the experience of performing on stage in a relaxed and happy atmosphere.

There are three sections: Junior, Middle and Senior.  Competitors perform in groups on stage, demonstrating a series of exercises from Port de Bras to Allegro, followed by a set dance from that level.  Spectators are always encouraged.  The Vacani Award (Junior) for the Joy of Dance, and the Pamela Miller Award (Middle and Senior) for Musicality are adjudicated separately within the competition

Entry Criteria

Junior - aged 9 or under on 1st September of the year preceding the competition, and holding Grade 1 or Standard 2
Middle - aged 12 or under on 1st September of the year preceding the competition, and holding Grade 2 or Standard 3
Senior - aged 16 or under on 1st September of the year preceding the competition, and holding Grade 4 or Standard 5

Students holding Intermediate Foundation or Intermediate may not enter.  A competitor who has won an award may not enter for that level again.


For further information about these awards please contact : -

Organiser: Carol Goode
Tel: 01633 771830

Organiser: Jacqui Everson
Tel:01495 756567
or 07962 233396